PMI Publishing

From its early beginnings when Belfern Music was the entire catalogue, the publishing arm of Phoenix Music International has gradually evolved into a boutique quality catalogue , indeed into a veritable eclectic smorgasbord of music from many genres, countries, scenes and eras.

Now consisting of Belfern, Gut Music and JS Music (Jet Star), the catalogue includes classics from the likes of Space, Gina G and The Wildhearts. Formerly the managing director of Westbury Music Felix Hines has been at the helm since November 2012, his arrival has seen a rapid increase in the number of artists signed, and a huge rise in the activity of the publishing arm. We have welcomed on board Raj Gupta aka Ray Mang, the writer/producer of Sound Captives, Block 16, Los Amigos Invisibles, and The Glimmers to name a few. Raj is a proven bespoke composer also, having composed for commercials such as Corsodyl, and the international theme for Euro 2012.

We are very pleased to have singed Electronic/house techno producer Mark E. Mark has been making cutting edge music for uber cool labels such as Ghostly International, Running Back and Golf Channel, and occupies that ever changing ground between techno house and disco. Swahili singer Mim Suleiman is also on board, as is her producer and disco/house/mutant funk maverick Maurice Fulton. Fulton, a founding father of house (see Basement Boys) has released on all labels at the cutting edge including Tiger Sushi, Output, DFA, Permanent Vacation, Running Back, and of course his own imprint Bubbletease.

Another new signing is Dilip Harris and Rob Gallagher, aka William Adamson, who have just seen their new album ‘Under An East Coast Moon’ album released on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Records. The sound sits somewhere between Suffolk and Louisiana, in swamps and on desolate beaches. The catalogue includes co-writes with Zero7, Ed Motta (forthcoming summer 2013), and 2 Banks of 4.

Also on board are Sam Johnson and Paul Burnley of Lucky Elephant. The acclaimed album Starsign Trampoline was released by Rob Da Dank’s Sunday Best label, and saw heaps of sync action including Bank SA in Australia, and, and in April 2013 a nice cuddly UK advert for Danone. The forthcoming album The Rainy Kingdom, produced by Mercury nominated producer Paul Butler (The Bees, Michael Kiwanuka, Devendra Banhart) sees the band return with their trademark hooky quirkiness, this time centred around songs lamenting the decline of local communities and neighbourhoods, at the same time as retaining the charm and innocence of Starsign.

In a development deal is Jonny Winston, a singer and songwriter and producer whose electronic blues vocals have graced a number of tracks spanning dubstep and drum n bass, with releases on Spawn Records with Roughmath, and on 2 Much Bass. Much is anticipated of Jonny, he is currently co-writing with amongst others Drumsound and Bassline Smith, and Des’ree producer and co-writer Tim Atack. Jonny has also recently written and performed the closing credits song for forthcoming feature film Luck.

Sync wise we have had tracks in top US shows like Ugly Betty, My Name IS Earl, 30 Rock, 90210 and in films such as The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo, Get Him To The Greek. In addition to games like Grand Theft Auto, Songstar, We Sing, Everybody Dance and commercials for television for the likes of Tesco, Schweppes, Boden and Danone.

Watch this space for more info on the writers and artists on the roster, and for a few very exciting forthcoming additions.

For sync and licensing queries please contact

Latest news

Theo Parrish: Teddy's Get Down

Read more

New Signing! Ragga Twins Step Out!

Read more

Latest releases

Out Now! Space: Attack Of The Mutant 50ft. Kebab

Read more

Out Now! Space: Fortune Teller

Read more

Latest blog

#GoForthAndMultiply New PMI #Dance Compilation.. more unreleased Tunes & Mixes
Wed Apr 23 11:07:51

Read more